The Government Council

The Government Council of the Canton of Zurich and its members

The Government Council is the supreme executive authority of the Canton. It upholds the Constitution and implements laws, ordinances and decrees taken by the Cantonal Parliament.

The cantonal administration is made up of seven Departments, establishing its administrative structure. The seven full-time members of the Government Council are elected by majority vote (in a simple plurality procedure) by the electorate every four years. They form the supreme executive authority in the Canton (executive body). The members of the Government take decisions together as a collegial authority.